The Northern Middlesex region encompasses 196 square miles in northern Middlesex County, approximately 20 miles north of Boston, Massachusetts. The member communities include the City of Lowell and the Towns of Billerica, Chelmsford, Dracut, Dunstable, Pepperell, Tewksbury, Tyngsborough, and Westford. The region is home to 286,901 persons, according to the 2010 U.S. Census.

The region contains innumerable natural resources, including wetlands and waterways, forest, fields, farms and hilltops. Such resources are critical to the overall character of the region, and to the quality of life for its residents.

The Greater Lowell region has a diverse economy, extensive infrastructure, and a highly educated and well trained workforce. The principal higher education facilities serving the region include UMass Lowell and Middlesex Community College. Both institutions provide employment, education opportunities, and research and development initiatives that help the region grow economically. 

The following community pages contain information on major governing and permitting boards and commissions, as well as contact information for municipal staff. 

To request corrections, additions or updates to this section please email or call 978-454-8021, ext. 121.